Northern Territory · The buying process
The buying process in the Northern Territory
The steps to buy a home in the Northern Territory, who may do the conveyancing, the public licence register, complaints and how long settlement takes.
Status: Every fact on this page was checked against NT.GOV.AU's own page text on 13 September 2026 (search-snippet verification against the pages listed under Sources). Whether transfers settle electronically is on the hub's still-to-confirm list.
Two things shape the sequence in the Northern Territory. The legal work can be done by a licensed conveyancing agent or a solicitor, and the agents are on a public register that takes a minute to search. And a private treaty contract carries a four-business-day cooling-off, while an auction contract has none. Settlement usually follows 30 to 90 days after the contract.
The steps in order
- Finance first. Get a pre-approval and a borrowing figure, with the grants and the duty in view; the borrowing capacity calculator gives a starting point.
- Check the licences. Search the agent, the agency and the conveyancing agent on the Licensing NT Public Register before dealing with them.
- Engage a licensed conveyancing agent or a solicitor before making an offer, so the contract reaches them before signing.
- Search and inspect. Read the listing against recorded sales, then arrange a building and pest inspection; at auction that happens before the day.
- Make the offer in writing, with a lapse date. If the agent asks for an offer deposit, it is returned if the seller does not accept.
- Sign the contract only after the conveyancer has read it. The cooling-off period is four business days from the last signature and exchange, unless waived or altered by agreement; at auction there is none.
- Pay the deposit into the trust account of the licensed agent, conveyancing agent or lawyer named in the contract.
- Satisfy the conditions written in, finance and inspections among them. After the cooling-off ends, an unconditional contract binds the buyer.
- Settle. The conveyancer arranges the transfer and the duty and the Land Titles Office registers it; keys on settlement day.
- Move in on time. A HomeGrown grant needs 12 months' residence after possession; the house and land exemption needs a move-in within 12 months and a six-month stay.
Who does the legal work
The Territory's page says the buyer can use a licensed conveyancing agent or a solicitor, or do the conveyancing themselves. Conveyancers can complete the legal work needed for the sale and transfer of real estate; solicitors can do all conveyancing work and can also act on other legal questions. Conveyancing agents are licensed under the Agents Licensing Act 1979, the same Act as real estate agents. The research behind this page did not cover the solicitors' register, so ask the solicitor which register they appear on.
Professional indemnity was not retrieved, so ask the practitioner what cover they hold. Give them the contract and every attachment before signing, then the finance approval, the inspection reports and identification for the lodgement as they arrive.
Checking the agent
A licence is needed to be a real estate, business or conveyancing agent, an agent's representative, or an auctioneer. All licensees are managed by the NT Agents Licensing Board, established under Part 11 of the Agents Licensing Act 1979. The Public Register on Licensing NT shows whether an individual, company or firm is licensed. That it covers conveyancing agents specifically is inferred from the licensing page, not stated. Queries go to the Deputy Registrar on 1800 193 111 (prompt 2) or propertyagents.licensing@nt.gov.au.
If something goes wrong
Complaints about an agent or an agent's representative go to the Agents Licensing Board, an independent statutory authority that licenses agents and handles discipline. Before applying, try to resolve the matter with the agent or someone senior in the agency. An application for disciplinary action has to be in writing. It can cover any breach of the Agents Licensing Act: failure to perform duties, to carry out lawful instructions, or to exercise due skill, care and diligence.
The process is disciplinary, for serious acts or inactions rather than trivial matters. It is not a dispute resolution mechanism and cannot award compensation; for that, the Board's page points to the Northern Territory Civil and Administrative Tribunal (NTCAT). Contact is Occupational Licensing and Associations on 1800 193 111 or registrar.agentslicensing@nt.gov.au. General consumer complaints go to NT Consumer Affairs. Complaints about a solicitor were not covered by the research behind this page.
How long it takes
The settlement period is usually between 30 and 90 days. The seller generally sets the date in the contract, and the buyer can negotiate a different one before signing. Before the contract, the cooling-off adds four business days on a private-treaty sale. What stretches settlement: finance not approved in time, a title or search problem, or an off-the-plan completion. Electronic lodgement through PEXA is live for mortgages and discharges; whether the transfer itself settles online was not confirmed, so ask the conveyancer which parts happen electronically.
Sources
- NT.GOV.AU, property and business agent licensing — checked 6 September 2026. Snippet-verified from this build environment; open before the page is indexed. The licence requirement, the Board and the public register.
- Licensing NT, public register — checked 6 September 2026. The register named on the licensing page; that its search covers conveyancing agents specifically is inferred, not stated.
- NT.GOV.AU, conveyancing — checked 6 September 2026. Snippet-verified from this build environment; who can do the conveyancing.
- NT.GOV.AU, complain about a real estate professional — checked 6 September 2026. Snippet-verified from this build environment; the Agents Licensing Board process, the contact number and the NTCAT pointer.
- NT.GOV.AU, Land Titles Office, lodging online for practitioners — checked 6 September 2026. Snippet-verified from this build environment; electronic lodgement from 11 August 2025 and the fee rule.
- NT.GOV.AU, settlement of a property sale — checked 6 September 2026. Snippet-verified from this build environment; the 30 to 90 day settlement period.
- Department of Trade, Business and Asian Relations, Agents Licensing Board — checked 6 September 2026. The Board's own page; listed in results, not opened.
- NT Consumer Affairs, complaints and disputes — checked 6 September 2026. The page exists with this title; its content on real estate was not retrieved.
Last updated 15 September 2026 · reviewed by The Buyers Grail editorial (agency page text checked 13 September 2026).
Where the report fits
A Property Decision Report does this work for one property you're weighing up: the fair-value range built from recorded comparable sales, where the asking price sits against it, the vendor and agent read, the risks that matter, and your opening, target and walk-away numbers, in writing, within 24 hours.
Get a report — $119 Free address check first Message Theo on WhatsApp
Every pack is the same full report; only the number of properties changes. $249 for three properties, $349 for five.