Queensland · Auctions and price guides
Auctions and price guides in Queensland
Queensland bans price guides for auction properties, so buyers work from the recorded sales; bidder registration, vendor bids, the reserve and no cooling-off.
Status: Every fact on this page was read on the Queensland Government's, the Office of Fair Trading's and Queensland legislation's own page text on 16 September 2026 (search-snippet verification against the pages listed under Sources): the auction price-guide ban, the Form 6 minimum price and the bait-advertising rule, bidder registration, vendor bids and the cooling-off exclusions. Still not seen: the section numbers in the Property Occupations Act 2014 and any auction deposit convention. The only changes on the Office of Fair Trading's auction pages are annual CPD from 6 June 2025 and minor Regulation amendments for online auctions; no price-guide reform is in train.
Queensland does not regulate the auction price guide; it bans it. It is illegal for a seller or their agent to give a buyer a price guide for a property going to auction, and the buyer forms a view from the recorded sales. On the day, every bidder is registered, vendor bids stop at the reserve and must be announced, and the winner signs immediately with no cooling-off.
What a price guide may say
For an auction property, nothing. The Office of Fair Trading's guidance is that a seller or agent cannot give a price guide because they cannot know how high the bidding will go. Portals that sort listings by price carry a prescribed statement that the property is being sold by auction or without a price, so no guide can be provided, and that any price bracket is a website filter.
With the seller's approval an auctioneer may hand over a comparative market analysis, a document showing what similar properties have sold for in the same area. The sales in it are the useful part.
For a private treaty sale the guide is a marketing choice, and offers over means the vendor's floor.
Underquoting
No stand-alone underquoting offence was seen for this page; the controls are general. Giving buyers a false impression about the price a seller will accept is what the Office of Fair Trading calls bait advertising, and a false or misleading representation about the sale of land is an offence under the Australian Consumer Law. The reference point is the seller's minimum selling price on the Form 6 appointment under the Property Occupations Act 2014: if the agent knows that figure is wrong, the representation is false or misleading. The Office of Fair Trading treats an agent advertising a property for less than the seller's minimum price on the Form 6 as a false or misleading representation. The section numbers were not seen for this page; open the Act.
The Office of Fair Trading enforces them; the buying process page has the complaints path. Penalty amounts were not seen for this page.
Reforms in train
No reform to Queensland's auction or price-guide rules was found in the official-domain results for this page. The change that has commenced is on the contract side: the seller disclosure scheme under the Property Law Act 2023, in force from 1 August 2025, covered on the cooling-off and contracts page. A change to the auction rules would appear on the Office of Fair Trading's auction industry page.
On auction day
Registration. Every bidder registers with the auctioneer before bidding, giving a name and address and evidence of identity such as a driver licence or passport, and receives a numbered bidder's card. Only bids from registered bidders are accepted, and the register is kept for at least 5 years.
Vendor bids. The auctioneer may accept a bid from the seller or the seller's agent, but only up to the reserve, and must tell the other bidders it is the seller's. An announced vendor bid tells the room a reserve has been set and not yet reached. Once bidding reaches the reserve any further seller bid is a false bid; false and dummy bids are illegal.
The reserve and passing in. The reserve is not disclosed. If bidding stops below it the property is passed in, and negotiation usually follows with the highest bidder. A registered bidder who signs a private treaty contract within 2 business days of that failed auction gets no cooling-off period.
The contract and the deposit. The successful bidder signs the contract immediately, with no cooling-off period; the Office of Fair Trading warns of very serious legal consequences for a buyer who cannot settle on time. The deposit on the day is set by the contract; the convention was not seen for this page. Finance, the building and pest inspection and the solicitor's read of the contract and disclosure documents happen before the day; none can be a condition afterwards.
Reading a guide against the sales
With no guide at auction and a marketing guide at private treaty, the method is the same. Collect the recorded comparable sales: similar type, similar land or internal size, similar condition, as recent as the evidence allows. Build the fair-value range from those. Then see where the campaign's number sits against it, under, within or above: the comparative market analysis, an "offers over" figure, or the agent's answer to "which sales support that". The two national guides, how a fair-value range is built and what "offers over" means in your state, set out the method. The walk-away number comes from the range, set before the auction, not from the bidding. The report does this for one property: the range, the risks, and opening, target and walk-away numbers in writing before the day.
Sources
- Queensland Government, buying at auction — checked 16 September 2026. Read on the page 13 and 16 September 2026: the ban on a price guide for an auction property and the reserve rule. The auction deposit convention is not stated.
- Office of Fair Trading Queensland, property advertising (best practice for the property industry) — checked 16 September 2026. Read on the page 16 September 2026: bait advertising, the Form 6 minimum selling price (mandatory from 1 May 2024), and that advertising below it is a false or misleading representation.
- Queensland legislation, Property Occupations Act 2014 — checked 6 September 2026. The section numbers for the auction price-guide ban and price representations were not seen; open before the page is indexed.
- Queensland legislation, Property Occupations Regulation 2014 (vendor bids, bidder registration) — checked 16 September 2026. Read on the register 16 September 2026: bidder registration (name, address, evidence of identity, a unique bidder identifier, the register kept five years) and the vendor bid rules.
- Public Trustee of Queensland, bidding at an auction — checked 6 September 2026. Snippet-verified from this build environment; open before the page is indexed.
- Office of Fair Trading Queensland, cooling-off period for residential property contracts — checked 16 September 2026. Read on the page 16 September 2026: no cooling-off on a contract entered into within 2 business days of an unsuccessful auction by a registered bidder.
- Office of Fair Trading Queensland, auction industry regulation — checked 16 September 2026. Read on the page 16 September 2026: the only changes listed are annual CPD for agents and auctioneers from 6 June 2025 and minor Regulation amendments for online auctions.
Last updated 16 September 2026 · reviewed by The Buyers Grail editorial (agency page text checked 16 September 2026).
Where the report fits
A Property Decision Report does this work for one property you're weighing up: the fair-value range built from recorded comparable sales, where the asking price sits against it, the vendor and agent read, the risks that matter, and your opening, target and walk-away numbers, in writing, within 24 hours.
Get a report — $119 Free address check first Message Theo on WhatsApp
Every pack is the same full report; only the number of properties changes. $249 for three properties, $349 for five.